Celebrations…

Second post that WordPress kept holding up…

So in my previous post I told the history of my devotion to my two favorite teams. Why does this matter? Well, the fact is that barely able to afford season seats for both my teams, traveling to see them was impossible. For the Kings it really didn’t matter they were mediocre at best. For the Galaxy it meant that I didn’t get to see them win two championships, whenever the MLS Cup final was in LA, the Galaxy weren’t there.

20120706-155144.jpg

In the last year that changed. In November I stood in the LA Riot Squad section singing and chanting, jumping and hugging as the Los Angeles Galaxy won the MLS Cup vs the Houston Dynamo at the Home Depot Center. It was amazing, and to be there to witness it, made it so much better. Having so many people there ready to enjoy the moment. I only wish my father could have been there to enjoy it with me. I still can’t believe it. As a fan that is the greatest experience you can have… unless…

Both your teams win. Eight months after I stood in the HDC cheering on the Galaxy, I was sitting in the Staples Center, silently, in complete disbelief. I was on the verge of witnessing the Los Angeles Kings win their very first Stanley Cup. And it was at home. And it was a thorough domination of a very worthy opponent. I still can’t believe what I saw.

20120706-155258.jpg

Being a fan can be a trying matter. Your very soul hurts when your team loses. People that aren’t fans don’t understand. You try and explain, but it’s futile, only another fan could possibly understand what you’re going through. For a long time I’ve been a fan of underdog teams, and disappointment was frequent enough to where I didn’t expect much. However, not only are my home teams like the Dodgers and Clippers good now, but my two most favorite teams are champions. The Galaxy which has gone to many finals only to lose and the Kings whose only final appearance was a lose and 19 years ago… they are champions. I can get over saying that… CHAMPIONS.

Leave a Reply

